Drabbles

As a writer I find Drabbles- short stories of exactly 100 words excluding the title- an excellent way of training myself to cut out unnecessary words in my novels.

This is one I wrote yesterday, particularly relevant to my life at the moment- including the spiders taking over the asylum.

Spiders and authors. 

I gaze at the laptop, needing inspiration for my next blockbuster.
My publisher is exerting pressure, telling me it needs to be riveting, superior to my last top-of-the-list best-seller, and ready for publication by Friday.

With my brain in free-fall I browse social media for inspiration. I notice a spider industrially weaving its web in a corner of the room. Watching it, I realise I should knuckle down to some housework; the place is a tip.

Duster in hand I reach up, only for the arachnid to tell me ‘Come on, you’ve heard of the world-wide web. Now get writing.’

Leave a Reply

