Authors versus characters

I’m not really a writer; my characters are!
This was brought home to me recently when I was juggling various stories pending the release of my next book. Here’s a quick Drabble (exactly 100 words) to prove the point. 😀

I had two short stories on the go at the same time; one a romance, the other a murder/mystery. To me the characters were totally different and belonged in separate categories.
Events were flowing when suddenly I hit a block. It was something I had never experienced before and I couldn’t understand it. When writing I let my mind loose and the stories appeared; my role was just to press the keys.
All was explained when my romantic heroine revealed she was really a baddy, and my assassin proved he was innocent.
A quick swop and everyone was happy. Result!

Leave a Reply

