The Rhunicorn

A recent article about the Rhinoceros possibly being the original ancestor of the Unicorn reminded me of this story I wrote a few months ago.
It originated when I was discussing the Rhino with two fellow authors, Riley J Froud and Jo Roderick, and somehow we got onto the subject of Unicorns. Perhaps we weren’t as daft as we thought we were.  

rhino_outline 24.3.16      unicorn-clip-art- 24.3.16

It wasn’t fair. None of the others in the Unicorn park would play with me. I could run as fast as them and loved to play ‘Horns’ but they said I was too big and rough. Secretly I think they were jealous, just because they were ‘uni-corns’ and I was a ‘bi-corn.’

OK maybe my skin wasn’t quite as silvery grey as theirs, but it was still sort of grey. After all Mum was black and Dad was white so that made me grey.

I’m sure they were envious of my thick coat, even if it was a bit wrinkled. It was all well and good being sleek but I bet the midges and flies made their lives a misery. At least I could have a good wallow in a mud bath without worrying about looking unkempt.

One afternoon I overheard the two-legged animals saying they had finally found a new home for me. As they were helping me into the transport box I hoped my friends would at least come to say goodbye. ‘Come on Rose, what are you waiting for? You must have been lonely here all on your own.’ I’d forgotten that the others were invisible to the two-legs.

After a short drive we arrived at the new place and I saw the sign above the entrance ‘Welcome to Rynos Oruss Park.’  As I looked round I could see lots of others just like me, playing happily in the mud. No wonder humans didn’t believe in Unicorns if they never showed themselves having fun.   

If you enjoyed this story please check out the ‘About Me’ link at the top of the page where you will find details of my other free stories, as well as my two published books; ABC Destiny and Changes.  Even better, buy the books and leave a review. 😀 Thank you.  

Leave a Reply

