Robot

I was trying to concentrate on proof reading my next book today when I was interrupted.
At least it provided inspiration for this Drabble. (A short story of 100 words exactly.)  

Definition of a Robot
‘A person who works mechanically without original thought, especially one who responds 
automatically to the commands of others.’

 

Robot telephone 27.1.16

I love being a robot.

Ring, ring.

Pick up the phone, but say nothing.

Silence, a click, someone in broken English asking
‘Good Morning, Madam. How are you today?’

Me, in robotic voice: “Speak now.”  I wait.

‘Hello?’

“Speak now.”

‘I’m sorry?’

“Please repeat.”

‘Hello?’

“Please repeat.”

‘Good Morning, Madam. How are you today?’

“Speak now.”

‘You have won first prize in the competition organised by our benefactors.’

“Please repeat.”

‘I’m sorry?’

Pause.

‘You have won first prize in the competition organised….’

“Please hold while I transfer you to our fraud department.”

Line goes dead. Yes!

Me one: scammers Nil.

Leave a Reply

