From the corner of my eye

Another in my Random words series where I am given 5 words to weave into a story.
The words were Love, Leg, Spin, Bucket and Mirror.
I hope you enjoy it.

grey eye 29.7.16

You know that feeling when you see something in your peripheral vision but as soon as you spin round it disappears?  It had been happening a lot lately but this time I was determined to catch whatever it was. Never mind that I was alone in this ramshackle old house, they didn’t scare me.

I went into the yard to find something to imprison the thing if it appeared. It was a struggle to haul the table in front of the mirror but I managed it. Now I would have a good all round view and be able to see them whichever way they approached.

After all that exertion I found myself nodding off over my evening meal. I’m not as young as I used to be, and that table was solid oak.

I woke with a start as I felt something brushing my leg and jumped up quickly. Next thing I knew the stone floor was coming to meet me as with a resounding crack my head hit the floor. That was the last thing I remembered.

‘Poor love. She should never have been living way out here all on her own.’

‘I wonder what she was doing with a bucket next to her chair. It looks as if she tripped over it when she stood up. Maybe something disturbed her. She never finished her dinner.’

‘What was that? I thought I saw something out of the corner of my eye.’

‘You must be imagining it. There’s nothing here.’

‘Hey! You two! I’m over here. Hello! I need your help. Are you blind or something? Hello!’

Stupid people. They can’t even see me when I’m standing right beside them. You would think I was invisible.

‘I hate these spooky old houses; they give me the creeps. There’s nothing else we can do for the poor old girl now. Let’s get her loaded into the ambulance and give the coroner a call. With a bit of luck my wife’s kept my dinner hot for me.’

 

 

 

One thought on “From the corner of my eye

Leave a Reply

